Lock a file
This feature is used to support document management when people work on files together. In collaborations of this kind different people may be working on a document simultaneously and upload their version using the replacement or new version option.
When a document has been locked, only the group manager and the person who locked the file, can unlock or replace the file. This will prevent that someone will overwrite someone else’s changes with a new version of the document. Only the group manager and the person who locked the file, can unlock the file.
The file will automatically be unlocked after 24 hours or when the file has been replaced.
- Click on the file you want to edit
- Click Lock
The person who locked the file will be displayed. The file also shows the maximum period for which it has been locked (always +24 hours after the lock was activated).