Group name, icon and access options
Via Group Management > Name, icon and access you can adjust the name of a group, the description, icon, category and the access options. Use these options to communicate and clarify the goal of a group, and allowing or restricting how users can access the group.
The group name and icon are displayed at the top of your group and in the Groups navigation menu.
- Choose a clear and concise group name. A concise name helps your users find and identify the right group from the list of groups available on your intranet.
- The group description is displayed at the top of the group startpage. You can leave it empty, or utilize it to introduce the group to new users.
- Add a recognizable group icon. Images are as important as clear group. Tip: choosing a set of group icons that match your organisation’s style guide.
The group description is also shown on the All groups and Recommended groups pages. When private groups are also shown under Groups, people who have no access to the group will also see this description.
The Group category can be used to collect groups with a similar goal. Groups can be sorted by category on the All groups, recommended groups and my groups pages. Do note, only webmasters can add new categories.
For each group, the general access can be adjusted.
- Private groups are the default. Every new group you create is private: only members that you explicitly add to the group can access it.
- Enable public access to open the group. When public access is enabled, every* member of your intranet can access the group and all its content. On the group’s startpage, a visiting member can choose to Follow the group. At a later moment, they can also unfollow it by clicking Actions > Unfollow group.
Open groups are a great way to facilitate communities on an intranet, or to share information that needs to be accessible company-wide.
* Webmasters can control who can signup to open groups by removing a member from the Member List ‘Members who can join public groups’.