Groups – Templates
Webmasters can reuse group settings for new groups by creating Templates. This option is available under Setup > Groups > Templates.
A template of a group literally means a copy of the group at the moment the Template is made. For a new group using this template all settings are saved in one click:
- the settings are copied from the the original group at the time of creation of the Template.
- members are added and their permissions are set (if available).
- folders and documents are added (if available).
- the custom layout is added (if available).
A template is a snapshot of a group. Future adjustments of the group will not be saved in the Template. Also groups that are based on this group will not be updated.
- Click New Template.
- Select a group you want to create a Template from.
- [Optional] Give a discription of the Template.
- Click Save.
From now on this Template will be available when adding a group.
Using Templates will save you time if you change the settings for groups. You can reuse your settings by saving them in a Template. With this you can, for example, create a standard for a project- or knowledge group. Also you can easily create groups with standard start up documentation and folders.